The Media Co-op

Local Independent News

More independent news:
Do you want free independent news delivered weekly? sign up now
Can you support independent journalists with $5? donate today!
Not reviewed by Media Co-op editors. copyeditedfact checked [?]

STILL TIME TO ACT! Canada Obligated to Continue Funding the Aboriginal Healing Foundation

Email Stephen Harper and all Members of Parliament before Mon April 12

by Susan Krajnc


According to NDP Member of Parliament Niki Ashton’s office, the budget debates in the House of Commons will resume on Monday, April 12th so there is still time to make your voice heard in support of the Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF). 

 

Email Prime Minister Stephen Harper and all Members of Parliament before Monday, April 12!  Email addresses provided below.

 

SAMPLE LETTER:

Dear Prime Minister Stephen Harper and Members of Parliament,

I was alarmed to learn that in the 2010 Budget, the Aboriginal Healing Foundation (AHF) will be cut-off.  I urge you to reverse this decision on Monday, April 12 at Second Reading as the budget debate continues.

The essential community-based work by the AHF in the last 12 years across Canada with survivors of the residential schools system cannot be forfeited now.  No Aboriginal-based healing program should be cut-off at this time and, indeed, services should be expanded   -- to help heal the inter-generational legacy of abuse.

Yours sincerely,

***************************************************

Resources:

Aboriginal Healing Foundationhttp://www.ahf.ca/

Six women from Missing Justice held a sit-in recently at the Indian Affairs Minister’s office to restore funding to the AHF:  http://www.missingjustice.ca/

Emergency Debate in the House of Commons on the AHF, March 31/10:

http://www2.parl.gc.ca/HousePublications/Publication.aspx?Language=E&Mode=1&Parl=40&Ses=3&DocId=4396385#OOB-3072802

Media:

http://www.vancouversun.com/news/Cuts+face+apology+first+nations+leaders/2776763/story.html

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/north/story/2010/04/07/north-funding-aglukkaq.html

http://www.cbc.ca/canada/north/story/2010/03/30/north-aboriginal-healing-foundation.html

http://www.theglobeandmail.com/news/politics/ottawa-cuts-funding-to-residential-schools-lobby-group/article1525591/

~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~ ~

Email addresses for all Members of Parliament:

(you may need to send it in 7 parts as some servers won't allow you to send to over 100 people at one time)

To Prime Minister Stephen Harper:  pm@pm.gc.ca

CC:

AbbotJ@parl.gc.ca, AblonD@parl.gc.ca, Aglukkaq.L@parl.gc.ca, AlbreH@parl.gc.ca, Allen.Ma@parl.gc.ca, AllenM@parl.gc.ca, AllisD@parl.gc.ca, AmbroR@parl.gc.ca, AnderR@parl.gc.ca, AnderDa@parl.gc.ca, AndreG@parl.gc.ca, Andrews.S@parl.gc.ca, Angus.C@parl.gc.ca, Armstrong.S@parl.gc.ca, ArthuA@parl.gc.ca, Ashfield.K@parl.gc.ca, Ashton.N@parl.gc.ca, AsselG@parl.gc.ca, AtamaA@parl.gc.ca, BachaC@parl.gc.ca, BagneLL@parl.gc.ca, BainsN@parl.gc.ca, BairdJ@parl.gc.ca, Beaudin.J@parl.gc.ca, BelanM@parl.gc.ca, BellaA@parl.gc.ca, BenneC@parl.gc.ca, BenoiL@parl.gc.ca, BerniM@parl.gc.ca, BevilM@parl.gc.ca, BevinD@parl.gc.ca, BezanJ@parl.gc.ca, BigraB@parl.gc.ca, BlackJ@parl.gc.ca, BlaisR@parl.gc.ca, BlaneS@parl.gc.ca, Block.K@parl.gc.ca, BonsaF@parl.gc.ca, BouchR@parl.gc.ca, BouchS@parl.gc.ca, Boughen.R@parl.gc.ca, BourgD@parl.gc.ca, Braid.P@parl.gc.ca, BreitG@parl.gc.ca, BrisoS@parl.gc.ca, BrownG@parl.gc.ca, Brown.L@parl.gc.ca, BrownPa@parl.gc.ca, BruinR@parl.gc.ca, BruneP@parl.gc.ca, ByrneG@parl.gc.ca, Cadman.D@parl.gc.ca, Calandra.P@parl.gc.ca, CalkiB@parl.gc.ca, CannaR@parl.gc.ca, CanniJ@parl.gc.ca, Cannon.L@parl.gc.ca, CardiS@parl.gc.ca, CarriCo@parl.gc.ca, CarriRo@parl.gc.ca, CassoR@parl.gc.ca, CharlC@parl.gc.ca, ChongM@parl.gc.ca, Chowo@parl.gc.ca, ChrisD@parl.gc.ca, ClarkR@parl.gc.ca, ClemeT@parl.gc.ca, Coady.S@parl.gc.ca, CoderD@parl.gc.ca, ComarJ@parl.gc.ca, CotleI@parl.gc.ca, Crombie.B@parl.gc.ca, CrowdJ@parl.gc.ca, CulleN@parl.gc.ca, CummiJ@parl.gc.ca, CuzneR@parl.gc.ca

 

 

DamouJ@parl.gc.ca, DavidP@parl.gc.ca, Davies.D@parl.gc.ca, DavieL@parl.gc.ca, DayS@parl.gc.ca, DebelC@parl.gc.ca, Dechert.B@parl.gc.ca, DelmaD@parl.gc.ca, DemerN@parl.gc.ca, DeschJoh@parl.gc.ca, DesnoL@parl.gc.ca, DevolB@parl.gc.ca, DewarP@parl.gc.ca, DhaliS@parl.gc.ca, DhallR@parl.gc.ca, DionS@parl.gc.ca, Donnelly.F@parl.gc.ca, Dorion.J@parl.gc.ca, DosanU@parl.gc.ca, Dreeshen.E@parl.gc.ca, DrydeK@parl.gc.ca, DucepG@parl.gc.ca, DufouN@parl.gc.ca, Duncan.J@parl.gc.ca, Duncan.K@parl.gc.ca, Duncan.L@parl.gc.ca, DykstR@parl.gc.ca, EasteW@parl.gc.ca, EykinM@parl.gc.ca, FaillM@parl.gc.ca, FastE@parl.gc.ca, FinleD@parl.gc.ca, FlaheJ@parl.gc.ca, FletcS@parl.gc.ca, FolcoR@parl.gc.ca, Foote.J@parl.gc.ca, FreemC@parl.gc.ca, FryH@parl.gc.ca, GagnoC@parl.gc.ca, GalipR@parl.gc.ca, GallaC@parl.gc.ca, GarneM@parl.gc.ca, GaudeRo@parl.gc.ca, GenerB@parl.gc.ca, Glover.S@parl.gc.ca, GodinY@parl.gc.ca, GoldrP@parl.gc.ca, GoodaR@parl.gc.ca, GoodyG@parl.gc.ca, GourdJ@parl.gc.ca, Gravelle.C@parl.gc.ca, GrewaN@parl.gc.ca, GuarnA@parl.gc.ca, GuayM@parl.gc.ca, GuergH@parl.gc.ca, Guimond.C@parl.gc.ca, GuimoM@parl.gc.ca

 

 

HallM@parl.gc.ca, HarpeS@parl.gc.ca, Harris.J@parl.gc.ca, HarriR@parl.gc.ca, HawnL@parl.gc.ca, HiebeR@parl.gc.ca, HillJ@parl.gc.ca, Hoback.R@parl.gc.ca, Hoeppner.C@parl.gc.ca, Holder.E@parl.gc.ca, HollaM@parl.gc.ca, Hughes.C@parl.gc.ca, Hyer.B@parl.gc.ca, IgnatM@parl.gc.ca, JeanB@parl.gc.ca, JenniM@parl.gc.ca, JuliaP@parl.gc.ca, KampR@parl.gc.ca, Kania.A@parl.gc.ca, KarygJ@parl.gc.ca, KeddyG@parl.gc.ca, Kennedy.G@parl.gc.ca, KenneJ@parl.gc.ca, Kent.P@parl.gc.ca, Kerr.G@parl.gc.ca, KomarE@parl.gc.ca, KrampD@parl.gc.ca, LaforJ@parl.gc.ca, LafraM@parl.gc.ca, LakeM@parl.gc.ca, LalonF@parl.gc.ca, LauzoG@parl.gc.ca, LavalC@parl.gc.ca, LaytoJ@parl.gc.ca, LebelD@parl.gc.ca, LeblaD@parl.gc.ca, LeeD@parl.gc.ca, LemayM@parl.gc.ca, LemiePi@parl.gc.ca, Leslie.M@parl.gc.ca, LessaY@parl.gc.ca, LevesY@parl.gc.ca, Lobb.B@parl.gc.ca, LukiwT@parl.gc.ca, LunnG@parl.gc.ca, LunneJ@parl.gc.ca

 

 

MacAuL@parl.gc.ca, MackaP@parl.gc.ca, MackeD@parl.gc.ca, MalhiG@parl.gc.ca, MaloL@parl.gc.ca, Maloway.J@parl.gc.ca, MarkI@parl.gc.ca, MarstW@parl.gc.ca, MartiK@parl.gc.ca, MartiPD@parl.gc.ca, MartiTo@parl.gc.ca, MasseB@parl.gc.ca, MathyI@parl.gc.ca, MayesC@parl.gc.ca, McCalJ@parl.gc.ca, McColeman.P@parl.gc.ca, McGuiDa@parl.gc.ca, MckayJ@parl.gc.ca, McLeod.C@parl.gc.ca, McTeaD@parl.gc.ca, MenarSe@parl.gc.ca, Mendes.A@parl.gc.ca, Menzies.T@parl.gc.ca, MerriR@parl.gc.ca, MilleLa@parl.gc.ca, MilliP@parl.gc.ca, MinnaM@parl.gc.ca, MooreJ@parl.gc.ca, MooreR@parl.gc.ca, MouraMa@parl.gc.ca, MulcaT@parl.gc.ca, MurphB@parl.gc.ca, MurphS@parl.gc.ca, MurraJ@parl.gc.ca, NadeaR@parl.gc.ca, NevilA@parl.gc.ca, NichoR@parl.gc.ca, NorloR@parl.gc.ca

 

 

ObhraD@parl.gc.ca, OconnG@parl.gc.ca, OdaB@parl.gc.ca, Oliphant.R@parl.gc.ca, ONeill-Gordon.T@parl.gc.ca, OuellCh@parl.gc.ca, PacetM@parl.gc.ca, PaillD@parl.gc.ca, Paille.P@parl.gc.ca, ParadC@parl.gc.ca, PatryB@parl.gc.ca, Payne.L@parl.gc.ca, PearsG@parl.gc.ca, PetitD@parl.gc.ca, PlamoL@parl.gc.ca, PoiliP@parl.gc.ca, Pomerleau.R@parl.gc.ca, PrentJ@parl.gc.ca, PrestJ@parl.gc.ca, ProulM@parl.gc.ca, RaeB@parl.gc.ca, Rafferty.J@parl.gc.ca, Raitt.L@parl.gc.ca, RajotJ@parl.gc.ca, RatanY@parl.gc.ca, Rathgeber.B@parl.gc.ca, ReganG@parl.gc.ca, ReidS@parl.gc.ca, Richards.B@parl.gc.ca, RichaL@parl.gc.ca, Rickford.G@parl.gc.ca, RitzG@parl.gc.ca, RodriPa@parl.gc.ca, RotaA@parl.gc.ca, RoyJe@parl.gc.ca, RusseT@parl.gc.ca

 

 

SavagM@parl.gc.ca, SavoiD@parl.gc.ca, Saxton.A@parl.gc.ca, ScarpF@parl.gc.ca, ScheeA@parl.gc.ca, SchelG@parl.gc.ca, SgroJ@parl.gc.ca, Shea.G@parl.gc.ca, ShiplB@parl.gc.ca, Shory.D@parl.gc.ca, SiksaB@parl.gc.ca, SilvaM@parl.gc.ca, SimmsSc@parl.gc.ca, Simson.M@parl.gc.ca, SmithJ@parl.gc.ca, SorenK@parl.gc.ca, StantB@parl.gc.ca, StcyrT@parl.gc.ca, StoffP@parl.gc.ca, StorsB@parl.gc.ca, StrahC@parl.gc.ca, SweetD@parl.gc.ca, SzaboP@parl.gc.ca, ThilaE@parl.gc.ca, Thibeault.G@parl.gc.ca, ThompG@parl.gc.ca, TilsoD@parl.gc.ca, ToewsV@parl.gc.ca, TonksA@parl.gc.ca, TrostB@parl.gc.ca, Trudeau.J@parl.gc.ca, TweedM@parl.gc.ca

 

 

Uppal.T@parl.gc.ca, Valeriote.F@parl.gc.ca, VankeD@parl.gc.ca, VanLoP@parl.gc.ca, VellaM@parl.gc.ca, VerneJ@parl.gc.ca, VinceR@parl.gc.ca, VolpeJ@parl.gc.ca, WallaM@parl.gc.ca, warawm7@parl.gc.ca, WarkeC@parl.gc.ca, WasylJ@parl.gc.ca, WatsoJ@parl.gc.ca, Weston.J@parl.gc.ca, Weston.R@parl.gc.ca, WilfeB@parl.gc.ca, Wong.A@parl.gc.ca, Woodworth.S@parl.gc.ca, WrzesB@parl.gc.ca, YelicL@parl.gc.ca, Young.T@parl.gc.ca, Zarac.L@parl.gc.ca

 

Prime Minister Stephen Harper

Office of the Prime Minister

80 Wellington Street

Ottawa, ON  K1A 0A2

Tel:  613-992-4211

Fax:  613-941-6900

pm@pm.gc.ca

 

Follow-up your email with a phone call to Stephen Harper’s office & your Member of Parliament on Monday, April 12.

Full contact info for all Members of Parliament at:

http://webinfo.parl.gc.ca/MembersOfParliament/MainMPsCompleteList.aspx?TimePeriod=Current&Language=E

 

 

 

 

 

Normal
0

MicrosoftInternetExplorer4

Socialize:
Want more grassroots coverage?
Join the Media Co-op today.
1656 words